The Foundation Stage:

In the Foundation Stage (Nursery and Reception) we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework. This focuses on six areas of Learning;

  • Communication, Language and Literacy
  • Reasoning, Problem Solving and Mathematics
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Creative Development

The curriculum provided during this vital part of your child’s early education provides the foundation upon which all other learning is based. We want your child to enjoy coming to school, to be enthusiastic about learning, and develop the confidence to ask questions and find out about the world around them.

Key Stage 1 and 2

In Key Stages 1 and 2, ( Years 1-6) we follow the National Curriculum which includes the subjects;

  • English (Oxford Reading Tree phonics/reading materials)
  • Maths
  • Science
  • ICT (Information Communication Technology)
  • Art and Design
  • History
  • Geography
  • Design Technology
  • Music
  • RE
  • Physical Education
  • PHSE
  • And MFL (Modern Foreign Languages)

A challenging and exciting curriculum is the minimum right and need of our children. In our rapidly changing society, we want our pupils to develop skills for learning that they can use and apply in a variety of contexts , in preparation for the future. In the last 10 years, the rapidity of change has increased dramatically, the development of Information and communications technology has opened doors and widened horizons. The future for our children is going to be very different to our present and we aim to provide a curriculum that will make our pupils successful life- long learners. For full details about our curriculum please see our Year Group Information pages.

If you would like more information about our curriculum contact us here.

Reading at Lakenham

Guide to parents reading